Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:37 p.m. - 2004-11-22
Insert Theme To Rocky
Having to wait four extra days to hear about a job is never a good sign. I am used to the �we�ll call to let you know� bullshit, but this particular company seemed so riddled with protocol, that I found it hard to believe that wouldn�t at least email me to let me know that whether I was hired or not.

By Friday, I was a depressed wreck. I spent the afternoon thinking of all the wonderful perks that I would miss out on. You know. The small things that make a difference. A retirement plan. Stock options. Full benefits. A supervisor who doesn�t come to work in his pajamas. Those kinds of things.

By Saturday, I was over it. Heavy drinking and good times helped with this stage.

Sunday I was back to being depressed , for I knew that less than 12 hours from now I would again be spending my days at place that I loathe. I would have to do mindless tasks, take messages that my boss would never return, play endless games of solitare, and pretend that the amount of money I�m getting paid is enough to make this job worthwhile.

Today, I was just down right mad. The interviewer had called me in SPECIFICALLY for this job. They told me they would let me know in two days, and that was last Tuesday. So I decided to send an email. A simple, how�s it going, what�s the status, anything I can do to help move things along, email.

I prepared to wait a few more days for a response.

My cell phone rang two minutes later.

They are sending an offer letter by Fed Ex to reach me by Wednesday.

My start date is December 8th, which they kindly did so that I can go to my last court date on the 7th.

I am, to say the very least, so happy, that I could puke. I have done the chair swivel move several times. I have thrown my arms up and silently yelled with full fury.

Yeah for me. Yeah for the shred of patience I had left. Yeah to me telling my current employer to suck it, and suck it hard.

And then when he gets tired, he can just keep sucking it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!