Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:55 a.m. - 2004-09-28
Spelling Bees and Cees
Quote of the Minute: "If I cut it too short, won't that make me look like a lesbian?" - Random woman at the local Cut-N-Save

Not-So-Common-Sense-Of-The-Day: Cutting your hair too short DOES in fact make you look like you enjoy the taco platter meal.
*************************************

I had to call the repair man for a golf cart today. Cause that�s what I use to get around town you know.

It was actually for my boss. He has a golf cart that he�s never used in the 2 years I�ve been here. And that�s my job. To make stupid phone calls for his personal maintenance issues. Cause that�s my job you know. The following is dialogue between me and the some old guy who answers the phone cause this is what he is apparently employed to do for some reason.

Old guy: Classy Carts, this is JoeBob, how can I help you?

Me: I need to schedule a maintenance guy to come out and look at my employers golf cart, cause this is apparently an aspect of my job in running his office.

Old guy: Well�..I can send someone out to pick it up. But he�d have to bring it back here so we can look at it. He can�t fix it on the spot.

Me:��uh huh. That�s fine. I kinda figured that.

Old guy: Okay then. What�s the address?

Me: 4030 North Camino del Celador. I�ll spell that last word for you. It�s C, E�

Old guy: You�ll have to spell that for me.

Me:.....right. Good idea. C, e, l, a, d, o, r. Pronounced sell-a-door.

Old guy:........Pelador?

Me: No, C, as in Cat.

Old guy:........P as in Pat?

Me:.................................................No. As in Cat.

Old guy: Hat?

Me: Cat.

Old guy: T as in Tat?

Me:................................................................

Old guy: Hello?

Me: Um, listen�. Not Pat, not Tat, not Hat. It�s C. The letter after A and B.

Old guy: B as in Bat. Got it.

Me: Wow.

Old guy: Glad I got it. I was running out of letters.

Me: Yeah. Well, there�s still a few left. Like C. As in CAT.

Old guy:...............................

Me: Meow.

Old guy: K as in kitty cat?

Me: What�s the name of the place you work for?

Old guy: Classy Ca ....oh, C. Got it.


How is it that someone like that gets the job of answering the phones? What�s sad is that he probably excels at quantum physics.

After hanging up and feeling like Dr. Seuss on a bad day, the phone rings. I pick it up and it�s JoeBob again.

JB: Uh listen. We�ll get right over there for you, but I need to know what the problem is with the cart.

Me: Well, I�m not really sure. It�s not mine and he didn�t tell me what the issue is with it.

JB: I�m not sure if we can fix it if we don�t know what�s wrong with it.

Me: Uh huh. Is it possible for the maintenance guy to figure out what the problem is? That being his job and all.

JB: Hmmmm. I suppose that�s possible. Just wanted to let you know that I couldn�t guarantee it being fixed if we don�t know what�s wrong with it.

Me: Okay then. Thanks for the non-guarantee.

I�m truly flabbergasted at this. Anyone else?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!