Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:04 a.m. - 2006-08-16
Wisdom - pearl shaped
In an attempt to �wow� you with updates, I�m going to touch on a very serious subject: Community College Education.

I recently finished/graduated/whatever and I can�t tell you what a relief it was to finally be done with it. That damned institution had wrung me dry of any enjoyment I could have obtained from an education. It took me waaaaay longer than planned to finish, but when you take a 10 year break from high school and then work full time in a �real� career, homework gets put on the back burner.

In my 3+ years of finishing this leg of my education, I�d thought I�d share with you some of the jewels of wisdom that I gathered during my walks through my Community College Education:

1. Spanish is the most boring second language to learn on the face of this earth. Not to mention the fact that I am surrounded by folks from el mexico, I can�t possibly be more sick of this language. GOD FORBID we offer a real �foreign� language.
2. Apparently your sole purpose when attending a writing class is to be attentive to the moaning and groaning of the teacher who has been writing his novel for 10 years, does this just on the side for a few extra bucks, has a brother who knows everyone in Hollywood, blah blah blah. You don�t actually write in these classes.
3. Apparently your sole purpose in the higher writing classes is to tailor your work to favor the opinion of the �teacher�. They don�t grade depending on MLA format or on content�they grade on whether they like the subject and agree with you. Good to know!
4. Math is the most useless subject for most average people. And I�m in accounting. I know what the fuck I�m talking about.
5. Art. Deciphering what is, what isn�t/History of and about/Critiquing and analyzing. Who gives a shit I ask you? Who? Apparently it is critical in your studies to debate with a fellow classmate on whether a free-standing toilet can be considered art.
6. Western Civilization is actually a contradiction in terms. They don�t teach that of course�they taught that Jesus was really a man, but probably not the son of God (I mean, come on!), and that we were the first in everything. Woohoo.
7. Most important of all is that you should never ever ever take a 5 week Biology class and lab. Not ever. Not unless you enjoy working 8 or 9 hours during the day and then going everyday to the lab to stand in line to take your turn at making a model of DNA out of sticks and clay. By the time I finished that class, I wanted to slit my own throat over the teacher just so I�d stain her lab coat.

Don�t get me wrong. Education, in any form is important. I finished simply for the sake of finishing a goal once in my lousy life. So don�t let this list of grievances deter you, take these pearls and go on your way. Good fucking luck.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!