Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:20 a.m. - 2006-08-14
From 9/8/05
When you least expect it

Joe and Joni have been married for 15 years. They have a 13 year old daughter Ashley. Joe and Joni have not had sex in 11 years. They constantly fight, bicker and snap at each other, in a humoreous way to people around them, but I'm sure not to them. They are both exceedingly overweight, and drink beer as if it were from the fountain of youth. I suppose I would too given the relationship. Their daughter Ashley is spoiled beyond all recognition and a typical 13 year old. Shudder.

They are my mother's friends and I've only met them twice.

The first time was to go borrow some luggage that Joni offered. She was friendly, in a sarcastic way, and I liked her.

The second time was when Joe offered to help move my mom 20 miles into town last year. He was friendly, and surprisingly easy going for someone who hasn't been laid in 11 years.

That was the only time that I've had contact with them.

Every year, Joe and one of his buddies drive to Indio CA to attend some boat races. Ashley and the buddy's daughter were pals and since teenage girls love to spend time with their dads, they tagged along this year.

Joni received a cell phone call from Ashley, being her usual terrible 13 yr old self, while they were on their way up to Indio, and after chatting for a few minutes, passed the phone to her dad, Joe.

Joe and Joni chatted for a few more moments. Probably about nothing important, probably some bickering, probably just the usual.

Thirty minutes later the gasoline for the boats ignited somehow in the van they were in, causing Joe to swerve and go over the edge of the cliff. Joe, his buddy, his daughter, and Ashley, died instantly.

I have not seen Joni and I don't plan to, considering she's my mother's friend and not really mine. I can't help but wonder though if she wishes she could change anything about how she was towards them. They were all awful towards each other, but sometimes one person's attitude change can make all the difference.

I wonder where they are now...and how Joni will sleep at night now wondering why she didn't tell them she loved them on the last phone call.

Go tell someone you love them.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!