Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:55 a.m. - 2005-08-04
To Throw or Not To Throw?
Okay. Here�s my conundrum:

Should people keep mementoes from their previous relationships? I personally have a hatbox that I�ve kept several things in, including some tidbits from my marriage. I�m not sure why exactly. I never pull it out and sift through the memories. I�ve just kept them for some reason.

Is this normal? Is it healthy? Is it necessary?

I suppose if you wanted to remember the pleasant things from the relationship, it would be a good idea. I suppose, in turn, if you wanted to remember the bad things and why you were no longer with them, it would be a good idea. But isn�t that what our own memories are for? I have no trouble remembering the good and bad and find that the pictures and such are not really important.

I encountered a few photos from the Boyfriends past and found it shocked me into reality. I didn�t like thinking he had posed with that smile with someone else. It made me feel replaceable. However, when he asked if he should throw them away, I found I couldn�t really make him do it with a clear conscious. After all, I had many of the same types of pictures. Not to mention, you shouldn�t have to ask someone to throw something away. Either they do it because their ready or they don�t.

I think I�ll be cleaning my hatbox out this weekend. I see no reason to keep such things, and can�t see how I�ll really regret it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!