Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:42 p.m. - 2005-01-18
SCORE!
My nutty grandmother from Los Angeles likes to call and rub the weather in my face. Usually cause it's tropical there, and 2 degrees from Hell here. It's a long standing tradition that we must talk about the weather for at least 15 minutes. It's not a tradition that I like, but it's there nevertheless. Like warts. This afternoon's conversation became the first time where the weather front bit her in the ass:

Gram: Oh my. Now that the floods are subsiding, we are having just LOVELY weather.

Me: Hmmm. Really?

Gram: Oh my yes. It's in the 60's right now. RIGHT NOW I tell you. Can you just GET better weather for WINTER??

Me: No, um...that's pretty nice.

Gram: So what is it there?

Me: It's 80 right now.

Gram:...........

Me: Well, I have to go now. Spring's waiting for me outside.

It's so beautiful here right now that it almost helps you forget that in a few months you'll think you're waiting in line in Dante's 5th circle. Yeah, I know everyone thinks having humidity is worse. To that I say Fuck Off.

The boyfriend and I went down to Mexico over the weekend to help some friends. Actually, he helped. And they're his friends. I neither helped, nor like them, so pretty much just laid around. It was a nice weekend all in all, except for the ride home, where I had to explain to the boyfriend why it wasn't okay to give a ride to a hitchhiker who was a 22 year old Mexican girl.

I see no logical reason to ever have this discussion, and said as much several times while explaining why it was not okay.

On MLK day, I celebrated as everyone should. Being the only one who I knew who had it off, I watched four DVD's in a row (BLESSED ARE THOSE WHO RID BLOCKBUSTER OF LATE FEES) and ate pizza in bed. It was a helluva day.

In the evening we went to see Aviator which sucked for many reasons, most of all because I had to explain the back stories of every "notable" hollywood person to the boyfriend. The only thing I hate more than other people talking during movies, is myself talking. I'm sure I racked up some bad movie etiquette karma there.


Other than that...life is usual. Nothing thrilling other than being chased down by a bee and finding someone left four quarters on the community washing machine. The word 'score' has never been yelled louder.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!