Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:49 a.m. - 2004-10-21
Slim Pickin's
I have two points to make today. I�ll make them quick cause I know you all need to get back to work.

First, I apparently enjoy writing on a subject that has already been covered by Incredipete. Cause this makes two times now. Technically, it�s not really on his subject, more of the polar opposite. But steal someone else�s thunder I shall.

Second, I think it�s time to clear up some rumors about being thin/slender/skinny. Cause apparently, everyone thinks that that should be the number one request in the next life.

Let me tell you something about being thin. Ready? Sit down, cause I guarantee that anyone over the �standard and socially acceptable weight� (whatever that is for the moment) is going to throw a fucking fit right now.

Being thin is just like being fat.

I can say this for several reasons.

First, if I�ve never been fat, then how can I know this? Same way that overweight people who�ve always been overweight can say that it�s better to be thin. How would they know? Cause that�s what the magazines say? The magazines also tell you 51 ways for a man to orgasm and we all know that�s bullshit. Or 36 ways to tell if he�s lying. Cause 35 wasn�t enough. Or hey, Moo-Moo�s are back in fashion cause my Marie Claire said so! Come. On.

Second, because beauty is indeed in the eye of the beholder. True, perhaps a larger portion of the population prefers their beauty a certain way, as it has always been (Hellllooooo? Anyone remember the Renaissance period? Large women were the shit.). But you still have people who don�t think ultra thin is beautiful. There are many many many men out there who do not think my figure is beautiful. In fact, they think it�s quite lacking. As do I at times.

Third, I wonder how many overweight people have had someone ask them if they have an eating disorder. You know, is it addiction, is it lack of self love, is it depression blah blah blah. Do you realize that I am asked these very same things because of my LACK of weight? The. Very. Same. Questions.

Fourth, and this may be on the shallow end of the points, but I�m sure that overweight people have a hard time finding clothes. Guess what. So do I. If you think all that crap on the runway is actually made for 6� slender frames, then you�re living in a world of magazines, and you need to go outside more pal. Tell you what, take an overweight girl and me to Walmart or JC Penny�s to buy pants that actually fit. She�ll beat me out every damn time.

And on and on I could go�

My best friend has this horrible habit of telling me every single time I see her, that I look like I�ve lost weight. I always tell her that this is not possible as I�ve weighed the same since high school. My frame is so slim and angular that if I were to loose, say, 5 pounds, I�d look like I would need to check into the hospital for something serious. I hate that she does this. It�s never in a positive way. People never come up to me and say, �Oh! You look so slender today!�. It�s usually �Oh! You are too skinny�. Uh huh. So, then, is it okay if I walk up to them and say, �Oh! You are really putting on the pounds today aren�t you?�.

No.

That�s never okay is it?

So this is an itty bitty shout out to all the slender girls who are that way because of genetic make up. I know it isn�t always fun. And I know that there are plenty of us who would trade this �skinniness� for a beautiful voluptuous frame. Just as many overweight people would.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!