Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:14 a.m. - 2004-10-11
Coming to a grocery store near you
The boyfriend and I would be a master team at the game of Taboo. For those of you playing at home, Taboo is the game much like the $10,000 pyramid. You have to describe something, avoiding certain obvious words, in hopes that the other teammate will be able to guess what you�re describing.

We play this during every conversation. Just for kicks.

Him: Okay you know those long things?

Me:����.?����Gonna have to give me more than that.

Him: You know those things. They�re long and you use them�.

Me: ����?����..Use them for what darling?

Him: Knitting.

Me: You mean knitting needles?

Him: Yes.

Me: HAHAHAHAHAHA

(I end every one of these laughing hysterically at the absurdity.)

Him: You know we didn�t have one in Yugoslavia. You know�that thing.

Me:�����.?����.......um���.right.

Him: You know�.where you can�t go out late.

Me: um��.curfew?

Him: Yes!!!! Wait. No.

Me: Where you have to be home by a certain time?

Him: Yes!!!!!

Me: Curfew. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

These happen often. We are getting good at Taboo and Charades. The funniest though, was explaining charades. I was actually doing charades for the game Charades. Brilliant.

This weekend though was the funniest thing I�ve read in forever. I asked him to write down a list of items I need at the store while I call them out to him. It never occurred to me he couldn�t spell�.this is what I got, and bless his heart, he stood behind me and wanted to know which ones he misspelled:

Shuger ( I smiled at this and gave him a kiss and told him the correct way.)
Solt (I guess it kinda sounds like an �o�. I corrected him and moved on.)
Coffe (I nodded in sympathy, cause this was tricky. Double letters next to each other, that�s just wrong.)
Toilet Peapper (Okay, now I giggled out loud, cause how can you get �toilet� right, but screw up �paper�?)
Alcohol (What a surprise that he mastered this one. Those damn Serbians can out drink a Russian I tell ya.)
Cat Food (Good job hon!)
Cat Litter (Good job!)
Hlem (This took me a minute. Then I laughed and said that it didn�t count if he didn�t know how to spell bread in our language. He couldn�t just put things down in his language.)

And finally�

Toot Pasta. (????????????????????) (I began snorting I was laughing so hard.) (He meant �tooth paste�, but the sheer indication of this misspelling left me on the floor and there was no way I could explain it to him.)

Toot Pasta. HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. All I have to do is think of it and the look on his face of utter blankness and I roll.


Be thankful you don�t have to learn English as an adult.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!