Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:43 a.m. - 2004-06-28
Sexist Comments and Sneaky Religion
Sexist Comments and Sneaky Religion

I should point out now that I detest any form of Grocery Store Literature. This goes the same for Airport Reading and Garage Sale Goodies. If you aren�t good enough to get your shit in a real store, and the peak of your career is Albertson�s, then count me out of that book club. And airports just sell the �bestsellers� which really pisses me off. It�s no fair to count sales at an airport. Anyone who buys a book there is doing so just out of sheer boredom. They are literally finding a way to kill time. And garage sales�well, I usually dig them for all kinds of shit, but the books are usually the ones that no one wants. And usually for a damn good reason. So anyways, I had never bought, let�s say, a �novel�, from a grocery store. I had also apparently been one of the two people left on the planet who had not heard of the �Left Behind� series. I had seen them in the grocery stores, so no go there. Then when I was at the airport, I noticed EVERYONE reading them. WTF??? What is so special about these books? Now I have to find out. So I broke down. I bought one from my local Le Safeway and began reading. Hmmm�not the best writing in the world. Pretty basic use of language and nothing that really grabs me. Seems to read like a soap opera�wait a second. Did I just read something about God here?? Hold just a fucking moment. Am I halfway through this son of bitch book to find out that it�s about God???!!!!! Yes I am.

I can�t tell you how pissed I was. Sneaky religion. It�s all over the place. I loathe being tricked and I hold all you fuckers responsible who were out there flaunting the book around. You could have at least mentioned that it was going to outline how I will rot in hell cause I was Left Behind.

***************************************

This weekend I experienced for the first time an actual sexist comment. They get thrown around all the time, but usually in jest. Usually. I myself will laugh uncontrollably when told the battered woman�s jokes.

What do you say to a woman who has two black eyes?

Nothing. The bitch already heard it twice.

Insulting? Yes. Small minded and mean? You bet. Funny? Sadly, yes.

I find that the woman�s movement, for the most part, gave me the short end of the stick. I like to take care of my significant other. I enjoy doing domestic things (except cooking and cleaning). And I enjoy when a man does the �manly� duties. Whatever that means. All that said, I assumed that this was a give and take attitude. It had not even occurred to me that the root of this attitude was control. I have never had to experience that in my generation's dating, and always viewed it as something you just see in TV and movies. Like Bewitched and Stepford Wives. Darin was a pussy too. Who had the real control there??

What I was faced with however was my current boytoy (referred to herein as BT) telling me, with a straight face mind you, that the relationship for him was 70/30. He stated that he was ALWAYS right. He also lovingly told me that he would never make a decision that would be against my will, but that the final decision did rest with him. He said he wanted to be the one to have control. No shit? He also used the example from My Big Fat Greek Wedding, which almost caused me to break up with him on the spot. He stated that unlike the movie where the man is the head and the woman is the neck of the relationship, he was in fact both head and neck. I silently included that he was the dick of the relationship too.

After the hot air ceased and I spent 10 seconds pondering all he said, all I could think was that he couldn�t even give me 60/40. Had to be greedy and take 40% more than me.

I laughed pretty good at all this and waited for a smile or something to indicate that he was bullshitting me. I quickly realized that he was dead fucking serious. This in turn halted the laughing immediately. I had no idea how to react to this. Anger? It�s certainly an option. How about puzzlement and taking the adult way and inquiring more on what he means?

Naw. I went for anger.

Let�s just say that he may still feel that way deep down inside, but he will never say a damn thing like that again while I�m within a hundred yards.

I proved with both gestures and words that no one was gonna be the head and the neck, not even me. But I could be if I wanted to, cause I�m the one with the pussy. And pussy always trumps dick.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!